GenGrades

Best HeyGen Alternatives in 2026: 6 AI Avatar Video Tools Compared on Price, Minutes and Consent

6 min readPublished Updated

Synthesia is the best HeyGen alternative for most companies: it beat HeyGen 5 to 4 in a ten-video public test, won the training videos and has the strictest consent checks. AI Studios gives unlimited avatar videos for $24 a month, AKOOL is the cheapest plan that also translates videos, and Creatify and Topview suit short product ads.

Disclosure

None of these six tools is made by the team behind GenGrades, and none paid to be listed. They are ranked on what matters when leaving HeyGen: what a minute of avatar video costs, public evidence on avatar quality, consent checks for real people, translation, commercial terms and what happens to your uploads; every fact links to its source.

At a glance

Every pick, what it is best for, the cheapest paid option and the free option.

  1. 1. Synthesia

    Training and company videos, with the strictest consent checks

    Cheapest paid option:
    $14 a month billed yearly (Starter)
    Free option:
    10 minutes of video a month, with a Synthesia logo
  2. 2. AI Studios

    Unlimited avatar videos for one flat monthly price

    Cheapest paid option:
    $24 a month billed yearly (Personal)
    Free option:
    3 videos a month, up to 1 minute each, watermarked
  3. 3. AKOOL

    The cheapest plan with avatars, video translation and live avatars

    Cheapest paid option:
    $12 a month (Starter)
    Free option:
    Videos up to 10 minutes at 720p, watermarked
  4. 4. Creatify

    Short UGC-style product ads made from a product link

    Cheapest paid option:
    $15 a month (Standard), or $10 a month on the annual plan
    Free option:
    10 credits a month, up to 2 video ads, watermarked
  5. 5. Topview

    E-commerce ads where the avatar holds your product

    Cheapest paid option:
    $24 a month (Plus), or $18 a month billed yearly ($216)
    Free option:
    No free plan on the pricing page
  6. 6. Vidnoz

    Trying stock avatars free, every day

    Cheapest paid option:
    $26.99 a month (Starter), or $19.99 a month billed yearly
    Free option:
    30 credits a day, about 60 seconds of video

The picks, in order

What each one does, what it costs and where it falls short.

  1. 1. Synthesia

    Training and company videos, with the strictest consent checks
    Synthesia's pricing page on yearly billing: Starter at $14 a month next to a struck-out $19, with 15,000 credits a year; Pro at $59 with 72,000.
    Synthesia's pricing page on yearly billing: Starter at $14 a month next to a struck-out $19, with 15,000 credits a year; Pro at $59 with 72,000.

    Source: synthesia.iochecked

    Synthesia is a business video platform that turns scripts and slides into presenter videos read by stock or personal AI avatars, with dubbing into more than 70 languages. In GPTPrompts.AI's ten-video test against HeyGen in May 2026 it won 5 to 4, taking the training modules while HeyGen took most marketing clips. Its consent rules are the strictest on this list.

    Cheapest paid option

    $14 a month billed yearly (Starter)

    Shown next to a struck-out $19 on October 25, 2026; other readings of the page in October showed $18 to $29, and PricingSaaS reports prices vary by region. Starter adds 15,000 credits a year, about 150 minutes of video.

    Source: synthesia.iochecked

    Free option

    10 minutes of video a month, with a Synthesia logo

    The free Basic plan has 500 credits a month and 9 stock avatars; downloading your video as MP4 needs a paid plan.

    Source: synthesia.iochecked

    Avatar minutes on the cheapest plan

    10 free a month, plus about 150 a year on Starter

    Video costs about 100 credits per finished minute; dubbing has its own allowance.

    Source: synthesia.iochecked

    Consent check for a real person

    Live consent video with a passcode, checked by a moderator

    Only the person shown may create their photo avatar; celebrities and public figures are rejected.

    Source: help.synthesia.iochecked

    Your uploads and training

    May be used to improve Synthesia's models

    No training opt-out is described. Avatar biometric data is used only to build your own avatar.

    Source: synthesia.iochecked

    Good

    • The strictest consent process here: a live consent video with a passcode, human review, and public figures blocked.
    • Won the training modules and the match overall, 5 to 4, in GPTPrompts.AI's ten-video test against HeyGen.
    • Ten free minutes of video a month on every plan, and Venture Harbour's pick for company training, citing SCORM export.

    Watch out for

    • Output stops at 1080p, and free videos carry a logo and cannot be downloaded as MP4.
    • Free credits were cut from 1,200 to 500 a month around October 1, 2026, PricingSaaS reported.
    • Venture Harbour (July 2026) found its avatars more formal and less lifelike than HeyGen's, and its voice cloning weaker.

    Skip it if: you are a solo creator who needs free downloadable clips or 4K, or a marketing video where the most lifelike face matters most.

    Synthesia's help article on photo avatar moderation, which requires a photo and a live consent video from the person shown.
    Synthesia's help article on photo avatar moderation, which requires a photo and a live consent video from the person shown.

    Source: help.synthesia.iochecked

  2. 2. AI Studios

    Unlimited avatar videos for one flat monthly price
    AI Studios' pricing on annual billing: Free, Personal at $24 a month and Team at $55 a seat a month.
    AI Studios' pricing on annual billing: Free, Personal at $24 a month and Team at $55 a seat a month.

    Source: aistudios.comchecked

    AI Studios, from DeepBrain AI, turns a script into a presenter video read by a stock avatar or a custom avatar recorded on a webcam, and dubs videos into 73 languages with lip sync. Its Personal plan does not meter avatar video by the minute: videos are unlimited, and only dubbing is capped, at 120 minutes a month.

    Cheapest paid option

    $24 a month billed yearly (Personal)

    AI Studios' help centre gives $29 on monthly billing. Unlimited avatar videos at 1080p with no watermark, 3 custom avatars and voice cloning.

    Source: aistudios.comchecked

    Free option

    3 videos a month, up to 1 minute each, watermarked

    720p. The terms limit free videos to personal, non-commercial use, although the pricing page ticks commercial rights on every plan.

    Source: aistudios.comchecked

    Avatar minutes on the cheapest plan

    No limit; videos up to 30 minutes each

    The help centre says 10 minutes per video on Personal. AI dubbing is capped at 120 minutes a month.

    Source: aistudios.comchecked

    Consent check for a real person

    Celebrity look-alikes are blocked automatically; no consent recording

    Otherwise you confirm you have the rights to the photos and videos you upload.

    Source: help.aistudios.comchecked

    Your uploads and training

    Not stated whether uploads train its models

    Inputs may be processed by third-party AI providers; photo-avatar data is kept until you close your account.

    Source: aistudios.comchecked

    Good

    • No per-minute meter on avatar video for $24 a month, where HeyGen's $24-29 Creator plan now buys about 12.5 minutes of Avatar V.
    • Dubbing into 73 languages with lip sync, subtitles and translation from the Personal plan up.
    • 4K output on the Team plan, and real-time interactive avatars on a self-serve $99 plan.

    Watch out for

    • Venture Harbour's July 2026 test found accent quirks and eye-contact problems in its avatars.
    • Only 11 Trustpilot reviews, mostly one-star: users say an unlimited dubbing plan was cut to 120 minutes a month and refunds were refused.
    • Its own pages disagree on the longest Personal video (30 or 10 minutes) and on whether free videos can be used commercially.

    Skip it if: heavy dubbing work: translation stops at 120 minutes a month on Personal, and users report slow dubbing jobs.

    AI Studios' home page, with its topic-to-video, dubbing, custom avatar, video generator and product video tools.
    AI Studios' home page, with its topic-to-video, dubbing, custom avatar, video generator and product video tools.

    Source: aistudios.comchecked

  3. 3. AKOOL

    The cheapest plan with avatars, video translation and live avatars
    AKOOL's pricing page on yearly billing: Starter at $12 a seat a month for 200 credits, Pro at $21 and Pro Max at $41.30.
    AKOOL's pricing page on yearly billing: Starter at $12 a seat a month for 200 credits, Pro at $21 and Pro Max at $41.30.

    Source: akool.comchecked

    AKOOL is a suite of AI video tools built around talking avatars and talking photos, real-time streaming avatars, face swap and video translation into more than 155 languages with optional lip sync. Its $12 Starter plan is the cheapest way on this list to remove the watermark, though AKOOL does not publish how many minutes of avatar video it buys in the web app.

    Cheapest paid option

    $12 a month (Starter)

    The same $12 on monthly and yearly billing ($144 a year) on October 25, 2026: 200 credits, 1080p, videos up to 15 minutes. The pricing page labels Starter to Pro Max with a personal licence.

    Source: akool.comchecked

    Free option

    Videos up to 10 minutes at 720p, watermarked

    One instant avatar, no voice cloning and 5 minutes of video translation; the free credit amount is not listed.

    Source: akool.comchecked

    Avatar minutes on the cheapest plan

    Not published for the web app

    At AKOOL's API rate for talking avatars, 5 credits per 10 seconds at 1080p, Starter's 200 credits would cover about 6.7 minutes.

    Source: akool.comchecked

    Consent check for a real person

    None described

    You confirm you hold the rights to what you upload; impersonating people, celebrities or brands is banned.

    Source: akool.comchecked

    Your uploads and training

    Not used to train models, per the terms

    Content sent through the API is licensed to AKOOL to improve its APIs; uploads are kept 365 days unless you clear them.

    Source: akool.comchecked

    Good

    • The cheapest watermark-free plan here: $12 a month for 1080p avatar video.
    • Video translation into 155+ languages with lip sync, plus real-time streaming avatars and live face swap.
    • A public API price list per feature and per second, from the Pro Max plan.

    Watch out for

    • Trustpilot shows no score for AKOOL: it withheld the rating after removing fake reviews, and recent reviews report unauthorised charges.
    • No consent check before making an avatar or a face swap of a real person.
    • The pricing page calls paid licences personal while the terms allow any lawful use, and stock avatars need written consent for paid social ads.

    Skip it if: you want to run its stock avatars in paid social ads without asking AKOOL first, or you need a vendor with a clean review record.

    AKOOL's video translation page, which advertises 155+ languages, 4K video and 5 free minutes.
    AKOOL's video translation page, which advertises 155+ languages, 4K video and 5 free minutes.

    Source: akool.comchecked

  4. 4. Creatify

    Short UGC-style product ads made from a product link
    Creatify's home page, which leads with AI video ads for businesses.
    Creatify's home page, which leads with AI video ads for businesses.

    Source: creatify.aichecked

    Creatify makes short video ads from a product link or script, read by stock AI actors in a casual, user-generated style, and can launch them to Meta, TikTok and AppLovin. Dupple's October 2026 guide picks it for UGC-style product ads. It is built for ads, so videos are short and there is no dubbing tool.

    Cheapest paid option

    $15 a month (Standard), or $10 a month on the annual plan

    55 credits a month and 300 AI actors. Pro is $55, or $38 on the annual plan, for 280 credits, 1,500 actors and 3 custom avatars.

    Source: creatify.aichecked

    Free option

    10 credits a month, up to 2 video ads, watermarked

    Free credits renew monthly but do not carry over into a paid plan.

    Source: creatify.aichecked

    Avatar minutes on the cheapest plan

    About 2.75 a month on Standard, 14 on Pro

    Avatar video costs 5 credits per 15 seconds. Videos stop at 2 minutes on Standard and 10 minutes on Pro.

    Source: help.creatify.aichecked

    Consent check for a real person

    Custom avatars need the person's explicit consent, per Creatify

    Its stock actors are paid actors who gave written consent. The API mentions a consent video but does not document the step.

    Source: creatify.aichecked

    Your uploads and training

    Training is not mentioned in the privacy policy

    The terms give Creatify a perpetual licence to your prompts and assets to provide, promote or improve its services.

    Source: creatify.aichecked

    Good

    • Built for product ads: video from a product link, 1,500 AI actors on Pro, ad templates and a launcher for Meta, TikTok and AppLovin.
    • Its stock actors are real actors who were paid and gave written consent, per Creatify.
    • A cheap way in: $10 a month on the annual plan, and a free plan to test with.

    Watch out for

    • Very few minutes: Standard covers under 3 minutes of avatar video a month.
    • Recent Trustpilot reviews (October 2026) report renewals charged after cancelling and refused refunds.
    • No dubbing or translation tool and a 10-minute cap, so it does not replace HeyGen for training or translated videos.

    Skip it if: long training or explainer videos, or translating videos you already have.

    Creatify's pricing with the annual plan selected: Pro at $38 a month next to a struck-out $55, for 280 credits.
    Creatify's pricing with the annual plan selected: Pro at $38 a month next to a struck-out $55, for 280 credits.

    Source: creatify.aichecked

  5. 5. Topview

    E-commerce ads where the avatar holds your product
    Topview's pricing on yearly billing during a limited-time offer: Plus with 100 credits a month, Business with 3,000 a year, Ultra with 500 a month.
    Topview's pricing on yearly billing during a limited-time offer: Plus with 100 credits a month, Business with 3,000 a year, Ultra with 500 a month.

    Source: topview.aichecked

    Topview is an AI video agent for marketing: from a product link it writes a script, adds voiceover and captions and drops in an AI presenter, including product avatars that hold or show your product. It made its name with avatar ads, but its home page now leads with the video agent. Its Avatar 4 model is cheap per second, but each Avatar 4 video stops at 180 seconds.

    Cheapest paid option

    $24 a month (Plus), or $18 a month billed yearly ($216)

    Shown with a limited-time offer on October 25, 2026. 100 credits a month, API and MCP access, 5 free voice clones.

    Source: topview.aichecked

    Free option

    No free plan on the pricing page

    Third-party listings describe a one-time 10 credits with watermarked exports; Topview's terms bar free users from any commercial use.

    Source: topview.aichecked

    Avatar minutes on the cheapest plan

    About 16.7 a month on Plus with Avatar 4

    Avatar 4 costs 0.1 credits a second (Avatar 4 Fast 0.06). Avatar 4 videos stop at 180 seconds.

    Source: topview.aichecked

    Consent check for a real person

    Written consent required; Topview may ask for proof

    No recording or automatic check is described.

    Source: topview.aichecked

    Your uploads and training

    Used to train Topview's models by default

    Opt out by emailing support; content under an Enterprise agreement is not used.

    Source: topview.aichecked

    Good

    • Product avatars that hold or show your product, aimed at online sellers.
    • Among the most avatar minutes for the money here: about 16.7 minutes of Avatar 4 for $18 to $24 a month.
    • Trustpilot 4.0 from 339 reviews, with recent reviewers praising its speed and price.

    Watch out for

    • Your uploads and outputs train its models unless you email support to opt out.
    • Avatar 4 videos stop at 180 seconds.
    • No free plan, and the pricing table leaves the watermark and commercial-licence rows blank.

    Skip it if: talking-head videos longer than three minutes, or anyone who does not want their uploads used for training.

    Topview's home page, which now leads with its video agent rather than avatars.
    Topview's home page, which now leads with its video agent rather than avatars.

    Source: topview.aichecked

  6. 6. Vidnoz

    Trying stock avatars free, every day
    Vidnoz's pricing on yearly billing: Free with 30 credits a day (about 60 seconds of video), Starter at $19.99 a month next to a struck-out $26.99.
    Vidnoz's pricing on yearly billing: Free with 30 credits a day (about 60 seconds of video), Starter at $19.99 a month next to a struck-out $26.99.

    Source: vidnoz.comchecked

    Vidnoz is a browser avatar video maker with a large free stock library: 1,600+ avatars, 3,400+ templates and about a minute of free video a day. Paid plans remove the watermark and allow videos up to 60 minutes. AI Video Picks rated its lip sync Good against HeyGen's Excellent, with the gap noticeable on close-ups.

    Cheapest paid option

    $26.99 a month (Starter), or $19.99 a month billed yearly

    450 credits a month at about $0.04 a credit, 1080p, no watermark, videos up to 60 minutes.

    Source: vidnoz.comchecked

    Free option

    30 credits a day, about 60 seconds of video

    720p with a Vidnoz watermark, up to 3 minutes per video. The home page advertises 60 free credits a day.

    Source: vidnoz.comchecked

    Avatar minutes on the cheapest plan

    About 15 a month on Starter

    At 30 credits per minute of video. The comparison table also lists 90 free credits a day on paid plans.

    Source: vidnoz.comchecked

    Consent check for a real person

    None described

    You confirm you hold the rights and consents for your content.

    Source: vidnoz.comchecked

    Your uploads and training

    Not stated whether uploads train models

    Free accounts inactive for more than two weeks have their data deleted.

    Source: vidnoz.comchecked

    Good

    • The largest free stock here: 1,600+ avatars, 890 voices and free credits every day.
    • Paid plans allow videos up to 60 minutes, with SCORM export for training systems.
    • The pricing page grants a full commercial licence even on the free plan, with the watermark.

    Watch out for

    • Lip sync is less precise than HeyGen's on close-ups, AI Video Picks found (May 2026).
    • Trustpilot 2.1 from 82 reviews: free offers that did not work, unanswered support and billing problems.
    • No consent check for custom avatars or talking photos, and no published API documentation or prices.

    Skip it if: close-up spokesperson videos for a client, or work where you need dependable support.

Facts we checked

Stated plainly, with where each one comes from and when we last looked.

ClaimValueSource
On October 15, 2026 HeyGen raised credits per minute without changing plan prices: Avatar V from 20 to 48, Avatar IV Video Look from 20 to 31, Video Agent from 30 to 80.

Source: usagepricing.comchecked

HeyGen's Creator plan costs $29 a month, or $24 billed yearly, for 600 credits: about 12.5 minutes of Avatar V or 19 minutes of Avatar IV Video Look.

Source: help.heygen.comchecked

HeyGen's API runs no consent check for photo avatars; the user must obtain and keep the person's agreement.

Source: developers.heygen.comchecked

Synthesia renamed its Creator plan Pro and cut free credits from 1,200 to 500 a month around October 1, 2026.

Source: pricingsaas.comchecked

Trustpilot showed no score for AKOOL on October 25, 2026: it withheld the rating for a guideline breach after removing fake reviews.

Source: trustpilot.comchecked

Topview's terms let it use uploads and outputs to train its models by default for users without an Enterprise agreement.

Source: topview.aichecked

How to do it

Each step is one thing to do.

  1. Download what you made in HeyGen

    Export finished videos and translations before your plan ends. Avatars, voices and projects do not move to another tool.

  2. Count minutes, not credits

    Divide each plan's credits by the per-minute rate of the avatar model you would use. HeyGen's Creator now buys about 12.5 minutes of Avatar V; AI Studios' Personal plan has no minute limit.

  3. Re-create your avatar with consent

    Record a new custom avatar in the new tool. On Synthesia the person shown must record a live consent video; elsewhere keep written consent yourself.

  4. Check the licence on the plan you buy

    Free videos on HeyGen and AI Studios are for non-commercial use, and AKOOL's pricing page labels its paid plans personal. Read the terms before using a video in ads.

  5. Turn off training before uploading faces

    HeyGen and Topview can train on uploads unless you email them to opt out. Do that before uploading a real person's face or voice.

  6. Run one script on two free plans

    Make the same 30-second video on two tools and compare the lip sync on a close-up before paying for a year.

How we ranked these HeyGen alternatives

Each tool here makes presenter-style videos with AI avatars, the job most people use HeyGen for. They are ranked on what changes when you leave HeyGen: what a minute of avatar video costs on the cheapest paid plan, what public tests say about how real the avatars look, whether the tool checks consent before anyone clones a real person, video translation, commercial terms and whether your uploads train its models. Every price and rule was read on the maker's own pages on October 25, 2026, and carries its link.

Synthesia is first because it is the most complete replacement with public evidence behind it: it beat HeyGen 5 to 4 in a ten-video test and has the strictest consent rules. AI Studios is second for value, because it does not meter avatar video by the minute. AKOOL is the cheapest plan that also translates videos, but its review record and consent rules are weaker.

What changed at HeyGen in October 2026

On October 15, 2026 HeyGen raised the credits each minute of video uses while keeping its plan prices, UsagePricing reported from snapshots of HeyGen's help centre. Avatar V went from 20 to 48 credits a minute, Avatar IV Video Look from 20 to 31, and Video Agent from 30 to 80. HeyGen's own credit guide shows the new rates.

Creator still costs $29 a month, or $24 billed yearly, for 600 credits. That now buys about 12.5 minutes of Avatar V or about 19 minutes of Avatar IV Video Look, against about 30 minutes before. The free plan gives 3 watermarked videos a month of up to a minute each. Users on Reddit had already complained in early 2026 that plans sold as unlimited still ran on credits, Toolworthy reported. Translation moved less: lip-synced translation went from 5 to 6 credits a minute, so the change hurts avatar-heavy users most.

Which kind of avatar tool you need

  • Presenter and training videos (Synthesia, AI Studios): a stock or custom avatar reads a script, often built from slides. These are closest to what HeyGen is mostly used for.
  • Video translation (AKOOL, AI Studios, Synthesia): upload a video you already have and get it back in another language with the lips re-synced. AKOOL lists the most languages, 155+.
  • Product ads (Creatify, Topview): short UGC-style clips from a product link, read by stock actors or by an avatar holding your product. Their short limits, 2 to 10 minutes on Creatify and 180 seconds per Avatar 4 clip on Topview, make them a poor fit for training.
  • Free experiments (Vidnoz): daily free credits and a large stock library, at 720p with a watermark.

Making an avatar of a real person is where these tools differ most. Synthesia lets only the person shown create their photo avatar, after a live consent video in which they read a passcode, and a moderator checks the match; public figures are rejected. AI Studios automatically blocks celebrity look-alikes but asks for no consent recording. Topview's terms require documented written consent and say it may ask for proof. AKOOL and Vidnoz describe no check: you only confirm you hold the rights. HeyGen asks for a webcam consent video for digital twins, but its API runs no consent check for photo avatars.

What public comparisons show

In GPTPrompts.AI's May 2026 test, the same ten videos were made on HeyGen and Synthesia. Synthesia won 5 to 4 with one tie, taking most training modules, while HeyGen took most marketing clips. G2 Learn's comparison of the two free plans, researched in November 2025, gave HeyGen the edge on avatar realism, voices and output. Venture Harbour made the same video on each platform and in July 2026 named HeyGen its overall pick for lip sync; it recommended Synthesia for company training and found AI Studios' avatars broadcast-style but with accent and eye-contact problems.

Fei Wu's March 2026 comparison ranks Synthesia first for gestures and camera angles; her bio says she is a Synthesia brand partner. AI Video Picks rated Vidnoz's lip sync below HeyGen's on close-ups, in a review with Vidnoz affiliate links. No public same-script test includes AKOOL, Creatify or Topview, and several "HeyGen alternatives" articles are written by AKOOL, Creatify and Magic Hour themselves, ranking their own tool first.

Other tools we looked at

  • Magic Hour lip-syncs footage you already have and makes photos talk, priced in hours of output on plans from $19 a month, per its pricing page. It has no stock presenter library, so it does not replace HeyGen's script-to-presenter videos. Its terms say uploads are not used for training.
  • VisionStory turns one photo into a talking video from $9.99 a month, but its terms let it train on uploads with no opt-out and bar commercial activity without written consent, while its pricing page sells commercial rights. Five of its six Trustpilot reviews were one-star on October 25, 2026.
  • Digen AI and DomoAI are general AI video generators with a lip-sync or short talking-avatar tool, not presenter-video platforms.
  • Makefun and Senzia are general AI video sites with no presenter-avatar product, and neither names the company behind it.

Where these tools fall short

What they still get wrong, with the evidence, and what no public test has settled yet.

Weak

Weak

  • No independent test puts all six side by side.

    Evidence: The public tests compare HeyGen with Synthesia or AI Studios; AKOOL, Creatify, Topview and Vidnoz have no same-script test against HeyGen.

  • Most of these tools do not check consent for real faces.

    Evidence: Synthesia requires a live consent video; AI Studios only blocks celebrity look-alikes; AKOOL and Vidnoz describe no check at all.

  • Credit prices change often.

    Evidence: HeyGen changed its credit rates on October 15, 2026, Synthesia its plans around October 1, and Topview's prices carried a limited-time offer on October 25.

Uncertain

Uncertain

  • Which Synthesia Starter price you will see.

    Why unsure: Readings of the same pricing page in October 2026 showed $14, $18, $19 and $29 a month, and PricingSaaS reports that prices vary by region.

  • How many minutes AKOOL's web plans buy.

    Why unsure: AKOOL publishes per-second credit rates only for its API; the web app's cost per minute of avatar video is not listed.

Common questions

Answer first, then why, an example, the limits and what to do next.

What is the best HeyGen alternative?

For most companies Synthesia is the best HeyGen alternative: it beat HeyGen 5 to 4 in a ten-video public test, won the training videos and has the strictest consent checks. If cost per minute matters most, AI Studios gives unlimited avatar videos for $24 a month; for short product ads, look at Creatify or Topview.

Is there a free alternative to HeyGen?

Vidnoz is the most generous free HeyGen alternative, with 30 free credits a day, about a minute of watermarked 720p video. Synthesia gives 10 free minutes a month, though free videos cannot be downloaded as MP4. AI Studios and AKOOL also have free plans with a watermark. AI Studios' terms, like HeyGen's, limit free videos to non-commercial use.

Is Synthesia better than HeyGen?

Synthesia is better than HeyGen for training videos and consent checks, and HeyGen is better for marketing clips and lifelike avatars. In GPTPrompts.AI's May 2026 ten-video test Synthesia won 5 to 4, doing better on training modules, while HeyGen won most marketing clips; Venture Harbour and G2 Learn judged HeyGen's avatars more lifelike. Synthesia has stricter consent checks but stops at 1080p.

What is the cheapest HeyGen alternative?

AKOOL's $12 Starter plan is the cheapest paid plan here without a watermark, but AKOOL does not publish how many minutes of avatar video it buys in the web app. For the most minutes per dollar, AI Studios' $24 Personal plan has no minute limit on avatar video, and Topview's Plus plan buys about 16.7 minutes of Avatar 4 for $18 to $24 a month.

Which HeyGen alternative is best for video translation?

AKOOL lists the most languages for video translation, more than 155, with optional lip sync and 5 free minutes. AI Studios dubs into 73 languages with lip sync from its $24 Personal plan, capped at 120 minutes a month, and Synthesia dubs into more than 70. HeyGen itself still lists 175+ languages and dialects.

Did HeyGen raise its prices?

Not its plan prices, but on October 15, 2026 HeyGen raised the credits each minute of video uses: Avatar V went from 20 to 48 credits a minute. Creator still costs $29 a month for 600 credits, which now covers about 12.5 minutes of Avatar V instead of about 30.

Sources

Sources

  1. Synthesia pricing (synthesia.io), accessed
  2. Synthesia help: photo avatars content moderation (help.synthesia.io), accessed
  3. Synthesia privacy policy (synthesia.io), accessed
  4. AI Studios home page (aistudios.com), accessed
  5. AI Studios pricing (aistudios.com), accessed
  6. AI Studios help: custom avatars of celebrities (help.aistudios.com), accessed
  7. AI Studios privacy policy (aistudios.com), accessed
  8. AKOOL home page (akool.com), accessed
  9. AKOOL pricing (akool.com), accessed
  10. AKOOL API pricing (akool.com), accessed
  11. AKOOL content moderation policy (akool.com), accessed
  12. AKOOL terms of service (akool.com), accessed
  13. Creatify home page (creatify.ai), accessed
  14. Creatify pricing (creatify.ai), accessed
  15. Creatify help: credits usage (help.creatify.ai), accessed
  16. Creatify AI ethics (creatify.ai), accessed
  17. Creatify privacy policy (creatify.ai), accessed
  18. Topview home page (topview.ai), accessed
  19. Topview pricing (topview.ai), accessed
  20. Topview credits consumption guide (topview.ai), accessed
  21. Topview terms (topview.ai), accessed
  22. Vidnoz home page (vidnoz.com), accessed
  23. Vidnoz pricing (vidnoz.com), accessed
  24. Vidnoz terms (vidnoz.com), accessed
  25. Vidnoz privacy policy (vidnoz.com), accessed
  26. UsagePricing: HeyGen avatar credit rate increase (October 15, 2026) (usagepricing.com), accessed
  27. HeyGen help: how to use credits (help.heygen.com), accessed
  28. HeyGen API docs: avatar consent (developers.heygen.com), accessed
  29. PricingSaaS: Synthesia renames Creator to Pro, cuts free credits (October 2026) (pricingsaas.com), accessed
  30. Trustpilot: AKOOL reviews (trustpilot.com), accessed
  31. HeyGen pricing (heygen.com), accessed
  32. Venture Harbour: best AI avatar software (July 2026) (ventureharbour.com), accessed
  33. GPTPrompts.AI: HeyGen vs Synthesia, ten videos (May 2026) (gptprompts.ai), accessed
  34. G2 Learn: Synthesia vs HeyGen (April 2026) (learn.g2.com), accessed
  35. AI Video Picks: Vidnoz review 2026 (aivideopicks.com), accessed
  36. Feisworld: best AI avatar generators (March 2026) (feisworld.com), accessed
  37. Toolworthy: HeyGen alternatives (April 2026) (toolworthy.ai), accessed
  38. Magic Hour pricing (magichour.ai), accessed
  39. Magic Hour terms of service (magichour.ai), accessed
  40. VisionStory terms of use (visionstory.ai), accessed
  41. HeyGen terms of service (heygen.com), accessed
  42. HeyGen privacy policy (heygen.com), accessed
  43. AI Studios help: removing the watermark (help.aistudios.com), accessed
  44. AI Studios terms of use (aistudios.com), accessed
  45. Trustpilot: AI Studios reviews (trustpilot.com), accessed
  46. AKOOL video translation (akool.com), accessed
  47. Creatify terms of service (creatify.ai), accessed
  48. Trustpilot: Creatify reviews (trustpilot.com), accessed
  49. Trustpilot: Topview reviews (trustpilot.com), accessed
  50. Trustpilot: Vidnoz reviews (trustpilot.com), accessed
  51. Dupple: best AI avatar generators (October 2026) (dupple.com), accessed
  52. VisionStory pricing (visionstory.ai), accessed
  53. Trustpilot: VisionStory reviews (trustpilot.com), accessed
  54. Digen AI (digen.ai), accessed
  55. DomoAI (domoai.app), accessed

Changelog

Changelog

  1. List created from public sources: prices, free plans, minutes, consent rules and training terms read on each maker's pages.

Recommended from GenGrades

  • Tool review

    VideoEnhancer

    VideoEnhancer is a web tool that upscales short MP4 clips to 1080p, 2K or 4K with the FlashVSR model and also compresses, face-swaps and generates video. After a 5-second free trial, 1080p costs 3 credits a second, $0.03 to $0.09 depending on how credits are bought. VideoEnhancer is our own product: it is made by the team behind GenGrades.

  • Tool review

    LayerGrab

    LayerGrab splits a flat image into up to 16 named, transparent layers over a filled-in background, on the web, in Figma or in Chrome, or pulls out only what you name. Each layer costs $0.10 on its $12 plan, $0.08 on Premium. No independent review exists yet. LayerGrab is our own product: it is made by the team behind GenGrades.

  • Tool review

    VideoTextRemover

    VideoTextRemover is a web tool that erases burned-in subtitles, captions and other on-screen text from MP4 and MOV videos and repaints what was behind them, up to 1080p. It bills per second processed, about $0.025 to $0.049, with 30 free seconds a month in some countries. VideoTextRemover is our own product: it is made by the team behind GenGrades.

  • Tool review

    MagicRemover

    MagicRemover is a browser tool that erases people, objects, text, logos and watermarks from photos, and subtitles from videos. Photos get 2 free removals a day, 2 more after sign-in, at about 1 megapixel; beyond that, credits start at $9.90 for 330. MagicRemover is our own product: it is made by the team behind GenGrades.