GenGrades

Best Otter.ai Alternatives in 2026: 8 AI Note Takers Compared on Bots, Consent and Price

8 min readPublished Updated

Fathom is the best Otter.ai alternative for most people: its free plan records and transcribes Zoom, Meet and Teams calls with no minute cap, and its bot shows itself. tl;dv suits teams that want attendees to approve recording, Granola is the pick for no bot at all, and Fireflies covers 100+ languages.

Disclosure

None of these eight note takers is made by the team behind GenGrades, and none paid to be listed. They are ranked for people leaving Otter: what you get free, whether a bot joins the call, what other attendees see, whether your meetings train the vendor's AI and what public reviews found; every fact links to its source.

At a glance

Every pick, what it is best for, the cheapest paid option and the free option.

  1. 1. Fathom

    Unlimited free recording and transcripts on Zoom, Google Meet and Teams

    Cheapest paid option:
    $16 a month billed yearly (Premium), or $20 monthly
    Free option:
    Unlimited recordings, transcripts and storage
  2. 2. tl;dv

    Teams that want attendees to approve recording first, with EU-hosted data

    Cheapest paid option:
    $18 a user a month billed yearly (Pro)
    Free option:
    Unlimited recordings and transcripts
  3. 3. Granola

    No bot in the call and no minute counter, on a Mac or Windows laptop

    Cheapest paid option:
    $14 a user a month (Business), billed monthly only
    Free option:
    Unlimited meetings; notes from the last 30 days visible
  4. 4. Fireflies.ai

    Meetings in many languages, with no AI training on your recordings

    Cheapest paid option:
    $10 a seat a month billed yearly (Pro), or $18 monthly
    Free option:
    3 transcriptions, or unlimited while auto-join is on
  5. 5. Bluedot

    No bot, a built-in recording notice, and data kept in the EU

    Cheapest paid option:
    $14 a user a month billed yearly (Basic), or $18 monthly
    Free option:
    5 meetings in total
  6. 6. Krisp

    Bot-free notes plus noise cancellation from one cheap desktop app

    Cheapest paid option:
    $8 a user a month billed yearly (Core), or $16 monthly
    Free option:
    A 7-day free trial, no card needed
  7. 7. Tactiq

    A cheap text transcript of Google Meet calls with no bot in the room

    Cheapest paid option:
    $8 a user a month billed yearly (Pro), or $12 monthly
    Free option:
    10 transcripts and 5 AI credits a month
  8. 8. Notta

    Meetings held in two languages, with live bilingual transcripts

    Cheapest paid option:
    $8.17 a month billed yearly (Pro, $97.99 a year)
    Free option:
    120 minutes a month, 3 minutes per recording

The picks, in order

What each one does, what it costs and where it falls short.

  1. 1. Fathom

    Unlimited free recording and transcripts on Zoom, Google Meet and Teams
    Fathom's home page, now carrying a 'Fathom is now part of Superhuman' banner and the line 'Now available bot-free'.
    Fathom's home page, now carrying a 'Fathom is now part of Superhuman' banner and the line 'Now available bot-free'.

    Source: fathom.aichecked

    Fathom is an AI notetaker that records Zoom, Google Meet and Microsoft Teams calls, writes a transcript, a summary and action items, and answers questions about your calls. Its free plan has no cap on recordings, transcription or storage, where Otter's stops at 300 minutes a month. Superhuman, the company formerly called Grammarly, announced on September 14, 2026 that it is buying Fathom.

    Cheapest paid option

    $16 a month billed yearly (Premium), or $20 monthly

    Premium adds advanced summaries, AI action items and Ask Fathom across your calls. Team is $15 a user billed yearly with a 2-user minimum; Business is $25.

    Source: fathom.aichecked

    Free option

    Unlimited recordings, transcripts and storage

    Some AI features, such as action items and Ask Fathom, are marked 'Limited use' on the free plan without a number.

    Source: fathom.aichecked

    Bot or no bot

    A visible bot; bot-free on Mac in beta

    Windows bot-free capture is 'coming soon'. It also records Slack Huddles; Webex and Android are not supported.

    Source: help.fathom.videochecked

    What others in the call see

    The bot and a recording banner

    In bot-free mode a Recording Notice setting posts a chat message when recording starts.

    Source: help.fathom.videochecked

    Trains on your meetings

    Yes, de-identified data, unless you opt out

    Its AI vendors (Anthropic, OpenAI and Google) may not train on your data.

    Source: fathom.aichecked

    Languages

    38

    Chinese is not on the list.

    Source: help.fathom.videochecked

    Good

    • The free plan records and transcribes every meeting with no minute cap, which no other pick here matches.
    • Zapier's April 2026 roundup of AI meeting assistants names it the best free option.
    • You can choose per meeting between a bot and bot-free capture on a Mac, including Slack Huddles.

    Watch out for

    • Bot-free capture is a Mac-only beta, so Windows users get the bot.
    • TechCrunch reports no word on the free plan's future after the Superhuman deal.
    • It trains its own models on de-identified meeting data unless you switch that off.

    Skip it if: you meet on Webex or Android, need a bot-free recorder on Windows today, or want no training on your meetings without changing a setting.

    Fathom's pricing page: the free plan line reads 'Unlimited recordings, instant call summaries, integrations with LLMs & more'.
    Fathom's pricing page: the free plan line reads 'Unlimited recordings, instant call summaries, integrations with LLMs & more'.

    Source: fathom.aichecked

  2. 2. tl;dv

    Teams that want attendees to approve recording first, with EU-hosted data
    tl;dv's home page, with its free-forever plan and a 'No bot required' badge.
    tl;dv's home page, with its free-forever plan and a 'No bot required' badge.

    Source: tldv.iochecked

    tl;dv records, transcribes and summarises Zoom, Google Meet and Microsoft Teams calls with a bot, or without one from its Mac and Windows app. It is the only pick with a consent page: switch it on and attendees can decline before the bot joins. The company is in Aachen, Germany, hosts data in the EU and says it does not train AI models on your meetings.

    Cheapest paid option

    $18 a user a month billed yearly (Pro)

    tl;dv's pricing page shows local currency (EUR 18 yearly or EUR 29 monthly from Europe). Laxis, a competitor, read the US monthly price as $29 in October 2026.

    Source: intercom.helpchecked

    Free option

    Unlimited recordings and transcripts

    AI notes are capped for the life of the account: full notes for the first 10 meetings, then only the first 10 minutes of each. Free recordings are kept 3 months.

    Source: intercom.helpchecked

    Bot or no bot

    A bot by default; bot-free desktop app, audio only

    The desktop app records any app's audio, including Slack huddles, but no video or screen share.

    Source: intercom.helpchecked

    What others in the call see

    The bot, and a consent page they can decline

    Consent Collection must be switched on. It replaces the calendar link with a consent page; if anyone declines, the bot does not join. It covers auto-recorded calendar meetings only.

    Source: intercom.helpchecked

    Trains on your meetings

    No

    Its privacy policy says content is not used to train, fine-tune or improve AI models. Data is hosted mainly in Germany and Finland.

    Source: tldv.iochecked

    Languages

    30+

    Source: tldv.iochecked

    Good

    • Free recording and transcription with no meeting limit.
    • The opt-in consent page keeps the bot out when an attendee says no.
    • EU hosting and a written no-training policy; Zapier names it best for AI-powered search.

    Watch out for

    • Free AI notes stop being complete after 10 meetings, for the life of the account.
    • Zapier found the bot can fail to join when tl;dv's servers are busy, and tl;dv says free meetings may not be recorded during surges.
    • Its Trustpilot score was 2.1 from 10 reviews, mostly about slow support and charges after cancelling.

    Skip it if: you want full free AI summaries for every meeting, or recordings longer than 3 hours.

    tl;dv's security page, which says no customer data is used to train the AI.
    tl;dv's security page, which says no customer data is used to train the AI.

    Source: tldv.iochecked

  3. 3. Granola

    No bot in the call and no minute counter, on a Mac or Windows laptop
    Granola's home page: an AI notepad for notes 'without a meeting bot', available for macOS, Windows, iOS and Android.
    Granola's home page: an AI notepad for notes 'without a meeting bot', available for macOS, Windows, iOS and Android.

    Source: granola.aichecked

    Granola is an AI notepad with no meeting bot: its Mac or Windows app listens to your computer's audio while you jot rough notes, then merges them with the transcript into structured notes you can chat with. It works with any call app and stores no audio. The free plan has no meeting cap, and Granola raised $125M at a $1.5B valuation in March 2026.

    Cheapest paid option

    $14 a user a month (Business), billed monthly only

    Annual billing is offered only on Enterprise, from $35 a user a month. Every active member of a workspace is a paid seat.

    Source: docs.granola.aichecked

    Free option

    Unlimited meetings; notes from the last 30 days visible

    Older notes are kept and come back if you upgrade. Slack is the only integration on the free plan.

    Source: docs.granola.aichecked

    Bot or no bot

    No bot; it listens on your own computer

    It saves no audio or video. The phone apps cover in-person meetings, not video calls.

    Source: docs.granola.aichecked

    What others in the call see

    Nothing, unless you turn on its notices

    A chat message and a video watermark are available per user; only Enterprise admins can enforce them. Granola does not publish whether they start on or off.

    Source: docs.granola.aichecked

    Trains on your meetings

    Yes, anonymised data on Basic and Business, unless you opt out

    Enterprise is opted out by default.

    Source: docs.granola.aichecked

    Languages

    31 on desktop, 17 on mobile

    Source: docs.granola.aichecked

    Good

    • No bot joins and no audio is kept: the audio is deleted after transcription.
    • No minute or meeting limit, even on the free plan.
    • Zapier names it best for combining your own notes with AI notes.

    Watch out for

    • No recording to replay, no clips and no file uploads.
    • Other attendees get no signal unless you switch on the notice, so telling them is on you.
    • It trains its own models on anonymised meeting data by default outside Enterprise.

    Skip it if: you need the recording itself, a notetaker that attends meetings while you are away, or a notice others see without you setting it up.

    Granola's pricing page: Basic at $0, Business at $14 and Enterprise at $35 per user a month.
    Granola's pricing page: Basic at $0, Business at $14 and Enterprise at $35 per user a month.

    Source: granola.aichecked

  4. 4. Fireflies.ai

    Meetings in many languages, with no AI training on your recordings
    Fireflies' pricing page on annual billing: Free at $0 and Pro at $10 per seat a month.
    Fireflies' pricing page on annual billing: Free at $0 and Pro at $10 per seat a month.

    Source: fireflies.aichecked

    Fireflies.ai is an AI notetaker whose bot joins your calendar meetings, or records without a bot from its desktop app and Chrome extension, then writes transcripts in 100+ languages, summaries and action items. It says it never trains AI models on meeting content. Its defaults are as eager as Otter's: it joins every meeting and emails the recap to every invitee unless you change them.

    Cheapest paid option

    $10 a seat a month billed yearly (Pro), or $18 monthly

    Pro has unlimited transcription, 8,000 minutes of storage per seat and a 2-hour limit per meeting.

    Source: fireflies.aichecked

    Free option

    3 transcriptions, or unlimited while auto-join is on

    For accounts created from September 1, 2026. The free plan also has 400 minutes of storage, 20 AI credits, a 2-hour meeting limit and no downloads.

    Source: guide.fireflies.aichecked

    Bot or no bot

    A bot by default; bot-free desktop app and Chrome extension

    The bot joins Zoom, Google Meet, Teams and Webex. Bot-free desktop capture keeps no audio or video file.

    Source: guide.fireflies.aichecked

    What others in the call see

    A bot named Fireflies.ai Notetaker, and the recap in their inbox

    Defaults: join all meetings, email the recap to everyone on the invite, open the meeting to anyone with the link. A pre-meeting email with a decline link and chat commands to remove the bot are optional.

    Source: guide.fireflies.aichecked

    Trains on your meetings

    No

    The privacy policy, updated September 28, 2026, says meeting content is not used to train internal or external models.

    Source: fireflies.aichecked

    Languages

    100+

    Source: guide.fireflies.aichecked

    Good

    • Transcribes 100+ languages with auto-detect, against Otter's six.
    • Says it never trains AI on meeting content and holds zero-retention terms with its AI vendors.
    • In The Business Dive's same-meeting comparison it made fewer transcription errors than Otter.

    Watch out for

    • Out of the box it joins every meeting, emails the recap to every invitee and opens meetings to anyone with the link.
    • New free accounts get only 3 transcriptions unless auto-join stays on.
    • Meetings stop at 2 hours on the free and Pro plans.

    Skip it if: you are leaving Otter because a bot joined calls uninvited and you do not want to change the defaults one by one.

    Fireflies' desktop app page, the bot-free way to capture meetings on Windows and Mac.
    Fireflies' desktop app page, the bot-free way to capture meetings on Windows and Mac.

    Source: fireflies.aichecked

  5. 5. Bluedot

    No bot, a built-in recording notice, and data kept in the EU
    Bluedot's home page, which calls it an 'invisible, privacy-first AI note taker' and says your data is never used to train AI models.
    Bluedot's home page, which calls it an 'invisible, privacy-first AI note taker' and says your data is never used to train AI models.

    Source: bluedothq.comchecked

    Bluedot records meetings without a bot by default, from a Chrome extension, a Mac or Windows app, a phone or an Apple Watch, then writes transcripts, AI notes and follow-up emails. It can post a notice to other attendees when you start recording, and a workspace owner can make that notice mandatory. It says it does not train AI models on your content and stores data in the EU by default.

    Cheapest paid option

    $14 a user a month billed yearly (Basic), or $18 monthly

    Basic is audio only, with a 1-hour limit per recording. Video and longer meetings need Pro, at $20 billed yearly or $25 monthly.

    Source: bluedothq.comchecked

    Free option

    5 meetings in total

    The allowance is for the life of the account, so the free plan works as a trial.

    Source: bluedothq.comchecked

    Bot or no bot

    No bot by default; an optional bot

    The optional bot joins Google Meet, Zoom and Teams. Bot-free recording covers Webex and Slack huddles in the browser.

    Source: help.bluedothq.comchecked

    What others in the call see

    A recording notice, which each user can switch off

    A workspace owner can force a consent message into the meeting chat for everyone.

    Source: help.bluedothq.comchecked

    Trains on your meetings

    No

    Data is stored on AWS in the EU by default, in the US on request.

    Source: bluedothq.comchecked

    Languages

    100+, two per transcript

    Source: help.bluedothq.comchecked

    Good

    • Bot-free on browser, desktop, phone and watch, with an optional bot when you want one.
    • A participant notice is built in, and admins can enforce it.
    • No training on your content, EU storage by default and a SOC 2 Type II claim.

    Watch out for

    • The free plan is 5 meetings for the life of the account.
    • The cheapest plan is audio only, with recordings capped at 1 hour.
    • Its own site does not name the company; the Chrome Web Store lists the developer as Twiso Inc.

    Skip it if: you want a free plan you can keep using, or long video meetings on the cheapest tier.

    Bluedot's pricing page on annual billing: Free with 5 meetings for the account's lifetime, Basic (audio only) at $14, Pro at $20 and Business at $32 per user a month.
    Bluedot's pricing page on annual billing: Free with 5 meetings for the account's lifetime, Basic (audio only) at $14, Pro at $20 and Business at $32 per user a month.

    Source: bluedothq.comchecked

  6. 6. Krisp

    Bot-free notes plus noise cancellation from one cheap desktop app
    Krisp's Meeting AI pricing on annual billing: a 7-day free trial, Core at $8 and Advanced at $15 per user a month.
    Krisp's Meeting AI pricing on annual billing: a 7-day free trial, Core at $8 and Advanced at $15 per user a month.

    Source: krisp.aichecked

    Krisp is a desktop app that sits between your microphone, your speakers and any call app: it removes background noise, can soften accents, and as a notetaker transcribes, records and summarises your calls without adding a participant. At $8 a user a month billed yearly it is the cheapest plan here with unlimited notes. It no longer has a free plan.

    Cheapest paid option

    $8 a user a month billed yearly (Core), or $16 monthly

    Core includes the unlimited AI note taker and noise cancellation, with 10 GB of storage.

    Source: krisp.aichecked

    Free option

    A 7-day free trial, no card needed

    Krisp replaced its permanent free plan with the trial; a pricing tracker first saw the change on June 4, 2026.

    Source: krisp.aichecked

    Bot or no bot

    No bot by default; an optional bot

    It works at the audio level on your computer, with Zoom, Google Meet, Teams and Slack Huddles.

    Source: krisp.aichecked

    What others in the call see

    Nothing in bot-free mode

    Krisp's pages describe no in-meeting notice for bot-free recording; it offers the bot to make consent more visible.

    Source: krisp.aichecked

    Trains on your meetings

    Listed as a purpose, with your consent

    The privacy policy names improving Krisp's own AI models as a purpose and describes no opt-out for meeting content.

    Source: krisp.aichecked

    Languages

    16 or 17

    Krisp's page says 17 in its feature list and names 16 in its FAQ.

    Source: krisp.aichecked

    Good

    • The cheapest unlimited note taker here, at $8 a user a month billed yearly.
    • Noise cancellation and accent conversion in the same app; Zapier names it best for audio quality.
    • The Business Dive measured about 96% accuracy in its own bot-free test call.

    Watch out for

    • No free plan any more, only a 7-day trial.
    • Nothing tells other attendees they are being recorded in bot-free mode.
    • Trustpilot reviewers in 2026 report heavy memory use on Macs and trouble uninstalling.

    Skip it if: you want a free plan, a notice others can see without extra steps, or more than about 16 languages.

    Krisp's AI Meeting Assistant page: noise and accent help on both sides of the call, then notes and next steps.
    Krisp's AI Meeting Assistant page: noise and accent help on both sides of the call, then notes and next steps.

    Source: krisp.aichecked

  7. 7. Tactiq

    A cheap text transcript of Google Meet calls with no bot in the room
    Tactiq's home page: live transcripts and AI summaries from a Chrome extension for Google Meet, Zoom and Teams.
    Tactiq's home page: live transcripts and AI summaries from a Chrome extension for Google Meet, Zoom and Teams.

    Source: tactiq.iochecked

    Tactiq is a Chrome extension that writes a live text transcript of Google Meet, Zoom and Microsoft Teams calls from your browser tab, then makes AI summaries and action items from it. No bot joins, and it keeps no audio or video. On the free plan it always posts a chat message telling others that Tactiq is transcribing.

    Cheapest paid option

    $8 a user a month billed yearly (Pro), or $12 monthly

    Pro has unlimited transcripts but only 10 AI credits a month; unlimited AI starts with Team at $16.67 billed yearly.

    Source: help.tactiq.iochecked

    Free option

    10 transcripts and 5 AI credits a month

    Transcription continues past the limit; AI features pause until the monthly reset.

    Source: tactiq.iochecked

    Bot or no bot

    No bot; it runs in your Chrome tab

    Zoom's desktop app needs Tactiq's Mac app, in beta. No mobile, in-person or Webex support.

    Source: tactiq.iochecked

    What others in the call see

    A chat message, always on in the free plan

    Pro and Team users can turn it off; Enterprise admins can force it on for everyone.

    Source: help.tactiq.iochecked

    Trains on your meetings

    Not stated

    Its AI runs on OpenAI's enterprise API, which OpenAI says is not used for training; Tactiq's own policy does not say either way.

    Source: tactiq.iochecked

    Languages

    30+, set by hand per meeting

    The homepage says 60+; the help centre lists 63 for Meet, 41 for Teams and 32 for Zoom.

    Source: help.tactiq.iochecked

    Good

    • No bot, and the free plan always tells others it is transcribing.
    • Unlimited transcripts for $8 a month billed yearly.
    • The Business Dive liked its action items and timestamped answers.

    Watch out for

    • Text only: there is no audio to check a quote against.
    • In The Business Dive's five-meeting test, live transcription failed to start several times; it scored 3.6 out of 5.
    • AI is metered tightly, with 10 credits a month on Pro.

    Skip it if: you need the recording, join Zoom from the Windows desktop app, or record in person.

    Tactiq's plans page on annual billing: Free, Pro at $8, Team at $16.67 and Business at $29.17 per user a month.
    Tactiq's plans page on annual billing: Free, Pro at $8, Team at $16.67 and Business at $29.17 per user a month.

    Source: tactiq.iochecked

  8. 8. Notta

    Meetings held in two languages, with live bilingual transcripts
    Notta's pricing page on annual billing: Free with 120 minutes a month, Pro at $8.17 a month ($97.99 a year) and Business at $16.67.
    Notta's pricing page on annual billing: Free with 120 minutes a month, Pro at $8.17 a month ($97.99 a year) and Business at $16.67.

    Source: notta.aichecked

    Notta transcribes and summarises meetings, calls and files in 58 languages, with live bilingual transcription for 23 language pairs. It records with a bot that joins Zoom, Google Meet, Teams and Webex, or without one from its Mac and Windows app. Its free plan stops each recording at 3 minutes, and many Trustpilot reviewers report yearly charges after a trial.

    Cheapest paid option

    $8.17 a month billed yearly (Pro, $97.99 a year)

    Pro gives 1,800 minutes a month and 5 hours per recording. The monthly price is not shown on the pricing page.

    Source: notta.aichecked

    Free option

    120 minutes a month, 3 minutes per recording

    The 3-minute cap means the free plan cannot transcribe a whole meeting.

    Source: notta.aichecked

    Bot or no bot

    A bot, or a bot-free desktop app in beta

    The desktop app records 40+ apps on Mac and Windows, including Webex, Slack Huddles and WhatsApp.

    Source: notta.aichecked

    What others in the call see

    The bot; nothing in bot-free mode

    Notta says telling participants is your responsibility.

    Source: notta.aichecked

    Trains on your meetings

    Not stated

    The policy says recordings are used to 'evaluate and improve' the service and offers no training opt-out.

    Source: notta.aichecked

    Languages

    58, plus 23 bilingual pairs

    Source: notta.aichecked

    Good

    • The widest language offer here, with live bilingual transcripts.
    • The bot-free desktop app is free on every plan and covers Webex and Slack Huddles.
    • 1,800 minutes a month for $97.99 a year.

    Watch out for

    • Free recordings stop at 3 minutes.
    • On Trustpilot, 87% of 170 reviews were one-star, mostly about yearly charges after trials; Trustpilot hid the score for a guideline breach.
    • The Business Dive rated its transcripts less accurate than Fathom's, at 3.7 out of 5.

    Skip it if: you want to stay on a free plan, or you tend to forget to cancel trials.

    Notta's bot-free page: its desktop app, in beta, records meetings on Mac and Windows 'without a visible bot joining'.
    Notta's bot-free page: its desktop app, in beta, records meetings on Mac and Windows 'without a visible bot joining'.

    Source: notta.aichecked

Facts we checked

Stated plainly, with where each one comes from and when we last looked.

ClaimValueSource
Four proposed class actions filed against Otter.ai in August and September 2025 were consolidated as In re Otter.AI Privacy Litigation (N.D. Cal., No. 5:25-cv-06911). They allege recording without all participants' consent; no ruling had been reported as of September 30, 2026.

Source: recordinglaw.comchecked

Otter's pricing table lists its recording disclaimer email and Microsoft Teams recording permission capture on the Enterprise plan only.

Source: otter.aichecked

Otter's privacy policy, effective June 16, 2026, says it trains its own AI on de-identified audio recordings and transcriptions.

Source: otter.aichecked

Superhuman, formerly Grammarly, announced on September 14, 2026 that it is acquiring Fathom; TechCrunch reported no word on the future of Fathom's free plan.

Source: techcrunch.comchecked

Fireflies accounts created from September 1, 2026 get 3 free transcriptions, or unlimited transcripts only while auto-join is on.

Source: guide.fireflies.aichecked

Krisp no longer has a permanent free plan; its pricing page offers a 7-day free trial before Core at $8 a user a month billed yearly.

Source: krisp.aichecked

How to do it

Each step is one thing to do.

  1. Export what you want to keep

    Otter's free plan shows only your 25 most recent conversations and exports mp3 and txt; Pro adds pdf, docx and srt. Download the meetings you need before you cancel.

  2. Stop Otter joining your calls

    Turn off auto-join in Otter, disconnect your calendar there, and remove Otter's access in your Google or Microsoft account settings. Then check that it stays out of your next few meetings.

  3. Decide between a bot and no bot

    Pick a bot if you want recordings of meetings you miss and a notice everyone can see. Pick a bot-free tool if bots are unwelcome in your calls, and plan to tell people yourself.

  4. Check the new tool's defaults before the first meeting

    Look at auto-join, who receives the recap, who can open the meeting by link, whether a notice is shown and whether recordings train the vendor's models. Fireflies, for example, joins every meeting and emails the recap to every invitee unless you change it.

  5. Tell people every time

    Turn on the tool's chat notice or consent page where it has one, and say it at the start of the call. Some places require every participant's consent to record.

How we ranked these note takers

This list is for people leaving Otter.ai. Each tool was placed on five things: what you get free, whether a bot joins the call, what other people in the meeting see, whether your meetings train the vendor's AI models, and what public reviews found. Every price, limit and policy was read on the maker's own pages on October 25, 2026, and carries its link.

Fathom is first because its free plan records and transcribes without a minute cap and its bot announces itself. tl;dv is second for its opt-in consent page and EU-hosted data with no AI training. Granola is third: no bot and no stored audio, but other attendees see nothing unless you turn on its notice. Fireflies has the most languages and no AI training, but its defaults are as eager as Otter's, so it sits fourth.

Why people are leaving Otter.ai in 2026

Otter faces four proposed class actions, consolidated as In re Otter.AI Privacy Litigation in the Northern District of California (No. 5:25-cv-06911). The suits allege that Otter's notetaker joins and records meetings without every participant's consent, that auto-join is on by default and keeps joining after users turn it off, that people without an Otter account are not told, that recordings train Otter's AI, and that voiceprints are collected without written consent under Illinois law. These are allegations: no ruling had been reported as of September 30, 2026. NPR reported the first suit in August 2025.

Otter's own pages explain part of the worry. Its pricing table lists the recording disclaimer email and Microsoft Teams recording permission capture on the Enterprise plan only, and its privacy policy, effective June 16, 2026, says it trains its own models on de-identified audio and transcripts, with no opt-out described.

Otter is still a capable product. Pro costs $16.99 a month, or $8.33 a month billed yearly, for 1,200 minutes and meetings of up to 90 minutes; the free plan gives 300 minutes a month at 30 minutes per conversation. A lower price shown beside Pro on the pricing page is an offer for India-issued cards only. Otter transcribes six languages, announced $320M in growth financing from General Catalyst on October 20, 2026, and is still Zapier's pick for asking questions about your meetings.

Bot or no bot: which kind of note taker you need

A bot is a visible participant: it joins the call, records it on the vendor's servers and can attend when you are not there. Everyone sees it in the participant list, and the host can remove it. Fathom, tl;dv, Fireflies and Notta work this way by default.

A bot-free note taker records on your own computer, from its audio and your microphone. Nothing joins the call, so it works with any app, Slack huddles included, but it only covers meetings you attend, and others see nothing unless the tool posts a notice. Granola, Krisp, Bluedot and Tactiq work this way by default; Fathom (Mac, in beta), tl;dv, Fireflies and Notta add it through their desktop apps.

If you need the recording itself, to replay a moment or cut a clip, choose a tool that keeps audio or video. Granola and Tactiq keep text only, and Fireflies' bot-free mode saves no audio file.

Telling people they are being recorded

Every tool here puts the duty on you: their terms say you are responsible for getting consent. What differs is how much help you get by default.

ToolRecords by default withWhat other attendees seeTrains on your meetings
FathomA bot (bot-free on Mac, beta)The bot and a recording bannerDe-identified data, unless you opt out
tl;dvA botThe bot; an opt-in consent page they can declineNo
GranolaNo botNothing, unless you turn on its noticeAnonymised data on Basic and Business, unless you opt out
FirefliesA bot that joins all meetingsThe bot; the recap in every invitee's inboxNo
BluedotNo botA notice each user can switch off; admins can force itNo
KrispNo botNothing described for bot-free modeListed as a purpose, with consent
TactiqNo botA chat message, always on in the free planNot stated
NottaA botThe bot; nothing in bot-free modeNot stated
Otter.aiA botThe bot; notice tools on Enterprise onlyDe-identified data, no opt-out described

Laws differ by place. Some US states, California among them, require every party's consent to record a conversation, which Chapman University cited when it banned Read AI in August 2025.

What public comparisons show

No neutral test has run these note takers on the same audio and published error rates. Zapier's roundup, updated in April 2026 after two weeks of real meetings, gives labels rather than scores: Fathom is the best free option, Granola the best for combining your notes with AI notes, tl;dv the best for searching meetings, Krisp the best for audio quality, Fireflies the best for collaboration and Otter the best for asking questions about meetings.

The only same-meeting comparisons come from The Business Dive, a review site with affiliate links; one of its writers, Aron Kantor, also makes a competing app. Its Otter review recorded one meeting alongside Fireflies and Fellow and put Otter at about 85% accuracy, with more errors than Fireflies; its Fireflies review estimated 85 to 95%. Its other reviews estimate Fathom at 85 to 90% and Tactiq at about 85%, and report about 96% for Krisp in a bot-free test call, without publishing the method.

Vendor pages such as Fireflies vs Otter by Fireflies and Fathom vs Otter by tl;dv compare features and prices but run no test.

Other tools we looked at

  • Read AI records with a bot, bot-free on Google Meet and from its apps, and searches your email and chat too. It is not ranked: it auto-joins once a calendar is connected, and University of Wisconsin-Madison's IT help page says clicking someone's Read report can create an account whose bot then joins your meetings. Chapman University banned it in August 2025, and its Trustpilot score was 1.3 out of 5 on October 25, 2026.
  • ScreenApp is a screen recorder with AI notes rather than a meeting assistant. It describes no way to tell attendees they are being recorded, its free plan is 2 transcriptions, and its terms say fees are non-refundable; its Trustpilot score was 1.3 out of 5, mostly over trials that turned into yearly charges.
  • Otter.ai itself can still be the right choice for a sales team that wants unlimited English meeting minutes and CRM sync on the Business plan, at $19.99 a user a month billed yearly.

Where these tools fall short

What they still get wrong, with the evidence, and what no public test has settled yet.

Weak

Weak

  • No neutral accuracy test exists.

    Evidence: The only same-meeting comparisons are estimates on The Business Dive, a site with affiliate links whose writer also makes a competing app; Zapier's roundup gives labels, not numbers.

  • Bot-free recording moves the duty to tell people onto you.

    Evidence: Granola, Krisp and Notta's desktop app show other attendees nothing unless you act, and Bluedot lets each user switch its notice off.

  • Free plans are shrinking.

    Evidence: Fireflies cut new free accounts to 3 transcriptions unless auto-join is on (September 2026), Krisp replaced its free plan with a 7-day trial, and tl;dv caps free AI notes at 10 meetings for the life of an account.

Uncertain

Uncertain

  • What happens to Fathom's free plan under Superhuman.

    Why unsure: Neither Superhuman's announcement nor TechCrunch's report says.

  • How Otter's auto-join behaves by default today.

    Why unsure: Otter's help centre sits behind a bot check, so this list relies on the lawsuits' allegations as summarised by Recording Law and NPR, and no court has ruled on them.

Common questions

Answer first, then why, an example, the limits and what to do next.

What is the best free alternative to Otter.ai?

Fathom is the best free alternative to Otter.ai: its free plan records, transcribes and stores Zoom, Google Meet and Teams calls with no minute cap, while Otter's free plan stops at 300 minutes a month and 30 minutes per conversation. tl;dv also records and transcribes without limit for free but caps AI notes at 10 meetings for the life of the account, and Granola's free plan has no meeting cap but shows only the last 30 days of notes.

Is there an AI note taker that does not join meetings as a bot?

Yes: Granola, Krisp, Bluedot and Tactiq record without a bot by default, from your own computer or browser. Fathom (on Mac, in beta), tl;dv, Fireflies and Notta also offer bot-free recording through their desktop apps. Without a bot, other people may not know they are being recorded, so turn on the tool's notice or tell them yourself.

Is Otter.ai being sued?

Yes, Otter.ai faces four proposed class actions, filed in August and September 2025 and consolidated as In re Otter.AI Privacy Litigation in the Northern District of California. They allege that Otter records meetings without all participants' consent and uses recordings to train its AI. These are allegations, and no ruling had been reported as of September 30, 2026.

Which AI note takers do not train on my meetings?

Fireflies, tl;dv and Bluedot say in their policies that meeting content is not used to train AI models. Fathom and Granola train their own models on de-identified or anonymised meeting data by default, with an opt-out; Otter trains on de-identified recordings and transcripts with no opt-out described; Krisp lists model training as a purpose based on consent; Tactiq and Notta do not say.

Is Fireflies better than Otter?

Fireflies covers far more languages, 100+ against Otter's six, and says it never trains AI on your meetings, but its defaults are just as eager: it joins every calendar meeting and emails the recap to every invitee unless you change them. In one same-meeting comparison by The Business Dive, a site with affiliate links, Fireflies made fewer transcription errors than Otter. Pro costs $10 a seat a month billed yearly, against $8.33 for Otter Pro.

Do I need to tell people I am using an AI note taker?

Usually yes, and every tool on this list makes it your responsibility in its terms. Some places, California among them, require every participant's consent to record, so turn on the tool's notice or consent page where it has one and say it at the start of the call. This is general information, not legal advice.

Sources

Sources

  1. Fathom home page (fathom.ai), accessed
  2. Fathom pricing (fathom.ai), accessed
  3. Fathom help: supported platforms (help.fathom.video), accessed
  4. Fathom help: recording notices and consent (help.fathom.video), accessed
  5. Fathom privacy policy (fathom.ai), accessed
  6. Fathom help: supported languages (help.fathom.video), accessed
  7. tl;dv home page (tldv.io), accessed
  8. tl;dv help: limits of the free plan (intercom.help), accessed
  9. tl;dv help: bot-free recording (intercom.help), accessed
  10. tl;dv help: consent collection (intercom.help), accessed
  11. tl;dv privacy policy (tldv.io), accessed
  12. Granola home page (granola.ai), accessed
  13. Granola help: subscriptions and billing (docs.granola.ai), accessed
  14. Granola help: transcription (docs.granola.ai), accessed
  15. Granola help: transparency and notices (docs.granola.ai), accessed
  16. Granola help: model training (docs.granola.ai), accessed
  17. Granola help: languages (docs.granola.ai), accessed
  18. Fireflies.ai home page (fireflies.ai), accessed
  19. Fireflies.ai pricing (fireflies.ai), accessed
  20. Fireflies help: unlimited transcripts on the free plan (guide.fireflies.ai), accessed
  21. Fireflies help: how Fireflies joins and records meetings (guide.fireflies.ai), accessed
  22. Fireflies help: recap emails and privacy settings (guide.fireflies.ai), accessed
  23. Fireflies.ai privacy policy (fireflies.ai), accessed
  24. Fireflies help: supported languages (guide.fireflies.ai), accessed
  25. Bluedot home page (bluedothq.com), accessed
  26. Bluedot pricing (bluedothq.com), accessed
  27. Bluedot help: recording with a bot (help.bluedothq.com), accessed
  28. Bluedot help: recording notifications (help.bluedothq.com), accessed
  29. Bluedot privacy policy (bluedothq.com), accessed
  30. Bluedot help: transcript languages (help.bluedothq.com), accessed
  31. Krisp AI Meeting Assistant (krisp.ai), accessed
  32. Krisp pricing (krisp.ai), accessed
  33. Krisp privacy policy (krisp.ai), accessed
  34. Tactiq home page (tactiq.io), accessed
  35. Tactiq help: plans and pricing (help.tactiq.io), accessed
  36. Tactiq pricing (tactiq.io), accessed
  37. Tactiq help: automated chat notification (help.tactiq.io), accessed
  38. Tactiq privacy center (tactiq.io), accessed
  39. Tactiq help: supported languages (help.tactiq.io), accessed
  40. Notta home page (notta.ai), accessed
  41. Notta pricing (notta.ai), accessed
  42. Notta bot-free recording (notta.ai), accessed
  43. Notta privacy policy (notta.ai), accessed
  44. Recording Law: AI meeting recording laws and lawsuits (updated September 30, 2026) (recordinglaw.com), accessed
  45. Otter.ai pricing (otter.ai), accessed
  46. Otter.ai privacy policy (otter.ai), accessed
  47. TechCrunch: Superhuman acquires Fathom (September 14, 2026) (techcrunch.com), accessed
  48. Otter.ai: General Catalyst backs Otter with $320M (October 20, 2026) (otter.ai), accessed
  49. NPR: class action says Otter.ai records without consent (August 15, 2025) (text.npr.org), accessed
  50. Zapier: the best AI meeting assistants (April 2026) (zapier.com), accessed
  51. The Business Dive: Otter AI review (October 2026) (thebusinessdive.com), accessed
  52. The Business Dive: Fireflies AI review (October 2026) (thebusinessdive.com), accessed
  53. The Business Dive: Fathom review (thebusinessdive.com), accessed
  54. The Business Dive: Tactiq review (thebusinessdive.com), accessed
  55. The Business Dive: Krisp review (thebusinessdive.com), accessed
  56. Fireflies blog: Fireflies vs Otter (June 2026) (fireflies.ai), accessed
  57. tl;dv blog: Fathom vs Otter (September 2026) (tldv.io), accessed
  58. UW-Madison KnowledgeBase: Read AI (kb.wisc.edu), accessed
  59. Chapman University IS&T: Read AI prohibited (August 13, 2025) (blogs.chapman.edu), accessed
  60. Trustpilot: Read AI reviews (trustpilot.com), accessed
  61. ScreenApp pricing (screenapp.io), accessed
  62. ScreenApp terms and conditions (screenapp.io), accessed
  63. Trustpilot: ScreenApp reviews (trustpilot.com), accessed
  64. tl;dv security commitment (tldv.io), accessed
  65. Trustpilot: tl;dv reviews (trustpilot.com), accessed
  66. Laxis: tl;dv review (October 2026) (laxis.com), accessed
  67. Granola pricing (granola.ai), accessed
  68. TechCrunch: Granola raises $125M at a $1.5B valuation (March 25, 2026) (techcrunch.com), accessed
  69. The Business Dive: Granola review (thebusinessdive.com), accessed
  70. The Business Dive: Notta review (thebusinessdive.com), accessed
  71. Fireflies desktop app (fireflies.ai), accessed
  72. Chrome Web Store: Bluedot (chromewebstore.google.com), accessed
  73. Trustpilot: Krisp reviews (trustpilot.com), accessed
  74. UsagePricing: Krisp pricing history (usagepricing.com), accessed
  75. Trustpilot: Notta reviews (trustpilot.com), accessed
  76. Superhuman: Superhuman acquires Fathom (blog.superhuman.com), accessed

Changelog

Changelog

  1. List created from public sources: prices, free plans, how each tool records, what attendees see and training policies, read on each maker's pages.

Recommended from GenGrades

  • Tool review

    VideoEnhancer

    VideoEnhancer is a web tool that upscales short MP4 clips to 1080p, 2K or 4K with the FlashVSR model and also compresses, face-swaps and generates video. After a 5-second free trial, 1080p costs 3 credits a second, $0.03 to $0.09 depending on how credits are bought. VideoEnhancer is our own product: it is made by the team behind GenGrades.

  • Tool review

    LayerGrab

    LayerGrab splits a flat image into up to 16 named, transparent layers over a filled-in background, on the web, in Figma or in Chrome, or pulls out only what you name. Each layer costs $0.10 on its $12 plan, $0.08 on Premium. No independent review exists yet. LayerGrab is our own product: it is made by the team behind GenGrades.

  • Tool review

    VideoTextRemover

    VideoTextRemover is a web tool that erases burned-in subtitles, captions and other on-screen text from MP4 and MOV videos and repaints what was behind them, up to 1080p. It bills per second processed, about $0.025 to $0.049, with 30 free seconds a month in some countries. VideoTextRemover is our own product: it is made by the team behind GenGrades.

  • Tool review

    MagicRemover

    MagicRemover is a browser tool that erases people, objects, text, logos and watermarks from photos, and subtitles from videos. Photos get 2 free removals a day, 2 more after sign-in, at about 1 megapixel; beyond that, credits start at $9.90 for 330. MagicRemover is our own product: it is made by the team behind GenGrades.